State Institute of Applied Optics

History

In the wake of the industry development after the Great Patriotic War, the USSR had an urgent need to develop centers of optical industry. In 1955, the Decree of the USSR Government provided for the creation of a new optical center, and at the end of 1956, the Ministry of Defense Industry decided to establish a branch of Vavilov State Optical Institute in Kazan in the territory of Kazan Optical and Mechanical Plant.

Regulation “On the Branch of the State Optical Institute” was approved on April 12, 1957, which is the official date of the beginning of the company’s activity. Already in 1958, the company developed a technology of the connection of optical parts by deep optical contact and grown the first single crystals of lead sulfide.

In 1961, an experimental and production department was established on the basis of the branch.

In 1963, the Branch of the State Optical Institute becomes a party to the USSR National Economy Achievement Exhibition. In the same year, the first diffraction grating with a frequency of 600 lp/mm was produced.

In 1966, the Branch of the State Optical Institute transformed into an independent research institute – State Institute of Applied Optics (“GIPO”). 

In 1968, “GIPO” obtained the first axial synthesized hologram.

In 1971, “GIPO” was appointed the lead organization for the metrological service of measuring tools and simulation of optical-physical parameters of astronomic radiation sources.

In 1971–1975, a photometric complex of devices FKM-71 and FKM-73 was designed and manufactured to study the planet Mars from outer space on the spacecrafts Mars-2, Mars-3, Mars-4, Mars-5; a radiometer IRV-75 to study the planet Venus was designed, manufactured, and installed on the automatic interplanetary stations Venus-9, Venus-10.

In 1975, the company was appointed the parent one in the industry of hologram optics. In 1978, it produced the first prototypes of holographic diffraction gratings.

In 1979–1981, several modifications of the onboard starry globe (BZG-1, BZG-1M, BZG-2) — device of astronauts’ visual astroorientation — were designed and manufactured as part of standard equipment of manned spacecrafts “Soyuz” and “Salute” (1968-1980).

In 1982, on the basis of “GIPO” was created an unparalleled in the USSR complex of instrumentation for the study of the optical properties of the atmosphere in laboratory and field conditions. For the first time, equipment for the metrological assurance of certification and verification of atomic absorption instruments was designed and manufactured in the country.

In 1987, the Institute was appointed the basic enterprise for the measurement of energy and spectral characteristics of astronomical sources of radiation.

In 1991, the Order of the Ministry of Defense Industry transformed the company into the Scientific and Production Association “State Institute of Applied Optics” (NPO “GIPO”). In 1992, an unparalleled flying laboratory for background research on the basis of Yak-42F was created.

In 1997, the Decree of the Government of Russia awarded NPO “GIPO” with the status of the Federal Scientific and Production Center.

In 2001, the Charter of FSUE “NPO “GIPO” was approved, and a certificate of state accreditation of FSUE “NPO “GIPO” as a scientific organization was received.

In 2004, a pilot batch of a parametric range of IR lenses was developed and produced; small-scale manufacturing was launched.

On December 1, 2010, state registration of JSC “Scientific and Production Association “State Institute of Applied Optics” created by the reorganization of FSUE “NPO “GIPO”.

On December 18, 2015, JSC “NPO GIPO” completed the state registration.

Государственный институт прикладной оптики

История

На волне становления промышленности после окончания Великой Отечественной войны в СССР возникла острая потребность в развитии центров оптической отрасли. В 1955 году постановлением Правительства СССР было предусмотрено создание нового оптического центра, а в конце 1956 года Министерством оборонной промышленности было принято решение о создании Филиала ГОИ им. С.И. Вавилова в г. Казани на территории Казанского оптико-механического завода.

12 апреля 1957 года было утверждено Положение «О Филиале Государственного оптического института», которое является официальной датой начала деятельности предприятия. А уже в 1958 году на предприятии была разработана технология соединения оптических деталей методом глубокого оптического контакта и выращены первые монокристалы сернистого свинца.

В 1961 году на базе Филиала создается экспериментально-производственный отдел.

В 1963 году ФГОИ впервые становится участником ВДНХ СССР. В том же году изготовлена первая дифракционная решетка с частотой 600 штр/мм.

В 1966 году Филиал ГОИ преобразован в самостоятельный НИИ – Государственный институт прикладной оптики (ГИПО).

В 1968 году в ГИПО была получена первая осевая синтезированная голограмма.

В 1971 году ГИПО назначен головной организацией по метрологической службе средств измерений и имитации оптико-физических параметров астрономических источников излучения.

В 1971-1975 годах разработан и изготовлен фотометрический комплекс приборов ФКМ-71 и ФКМ-73 для исследования планеты Марс из космического пространства на КА «Марс-2, -3, -4, -5»; разработан, изготовлен и поставлен на автоматические межпланетные станции «Венера-9, -10» радиометр ИРВ-75 для исследования планеты Венера.

В 1975 году предприятие назначается головным в отрасли по голограммной оптике. В 1978 году изготовлены первые опытные образцы голографических дифракционных решеток.

В 1979-1981 годах разработаны и изготовлены несколько модификаций бортового звездного глобуса (БЗГ-1, БЗГ-1М, БЗГ-2)     – прибора визуальной астроориентации космонавтов – в составе штатной аппаратуры пилотируемых КК «Союз» и «Салют»    (1968-1980 гг.).  

В 1982 году создан не имеющий аналогов в СССР комплекс измерительной аппаратуры для исследования оптических свойств атмосферы в лабораторных и полевых условиях. Впервые в стране разработана и изготовлена аппаратура для метрологического обеспечения аттестации и поверки атомно-абсорбционных приборов.

В 1987 году ГИПО назначается базовым предприятием по измерению энергетических и спектральных характеристик астрономических источников излучения.

В 1991 году предприятие преобразовано в научно-производственное объединение «Государственный институт прикладной оптики» (НПО ГИПО).

В 1992 году создана не имеющая аналогов летающая лаборатория для фоноцелевые исследований на базе самолета ЯК-42Ф.   В 1997 году Постановлением Правительства России НПО «ГИПО» присвоен статус Федерального научно-производственного центра.

В 2001 году утвержден Устав ФГУП «НПО «ГИПО», а также получено Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации ФГУП «НПО ГИПО» как научной организации. 

В 2004 году разработана и изготовлена опытная партия параметрического ряда ИК-объективов для тепловизионной техники, начато их мелкосерийное изготовление.

1 декабря 2010 года осуществлена государственная регистрация ОАО «Научно-производственное объединение «Государственный институт прикладной оптики», созданного в ходе реорганизации путем преобразования ФГУП «НПО «ГИПО».