Research and technological institute of optical materials all-Russia scientific center "S.I.Vavilov State Optical Institute"

Research and development

The research and development activities of the Research and technological institute of optical materials all-Russia scientific center "S.I.Vavilov State Optical Institute" are concentrated in three research and production complexes: "Crystal", "Fibre", and "Glass".

The "Crystal" research and production complex carries out research studies and developments in three directions: activated crystalline materials, functional crystalline optical materials, and crystalline and polycrystalline media used in a wide spectral range (UV, visible range, infrared). This research and production complex carries out the following activities:

  • the growth of active optical elements from the crystals of gadolinium-scandium-aluminum garnet, double fluoride of yttrium – lithium with rare-earth elements, potassium-gadolinium tungstate activated by neodymium, barium nitrate, and nickel sulfate;
  • the production of leucosapphire blanks, calcium and barium fluoride, zinc selenide, and zinc selenide composite/zinc fluoride for through-passing optics in the UV, visible, and infrared ranges.

The "Fibre" research and production complex conducts experimental investigations in the following directions:

  • increasing the strength of photon-crystalline fibres;
  • designing optical guides for the production of Bragg gratings;
  • designing activated optical guides for fiber lasers;
  • designing optical guides in order to transfer powerful laser radiation;
  • research studies of the nonlinear-optical transformation of picosecond laser pulses in photon-crystalline fibers.

The "Glass" research and production complex conducts research and the development activities in three directions: optical glass, laser glass, and glass ceramics. In the "Optical glass" direction, the center continues its activities on the expansion of the catalogue of optical (more than 70 brands) and radiation-resistant (more than 60 brands) glass. The complex is developing new glass samples, inter alia, for fibre-optical products, including high temperature glass samples. For example, under the contract with Swarovski and Preciosa companies the specialists of the Research and technological institute of optical materials have successfully implemented to create color glass of a certain color scheme without harmful impurities.

The latest technology created in the direction "Laser glass" is light-absorbing glass synthesis technology for cladding disc active elements. The products created on the basis of this technology significantly exceed the characteristics of ordinary glass used for these purposes. The institute is manufacturing light-absorbing glass to fill an order by the Russian Nuclear Centre.

In the direction "Glass ceramics" the Research and technological institute of optical materials has developed optical glass with nanocrystals, which impart fundamentally new properties to the material. On the basis of these innovative products, the institute creates nanostructured materials for highly effective passive laser shutters, highly efficient diffusion reflectors, electro-optical glass-crystal elements, and gradient-indexes.

НИТИОМ ВНЦ «ГОИ им. С.И. Вавилова»

Исследования и разработки

Исследования и разработки в научно-исследовательском и технологическом институте оптического материаловедения (НИТИОМ) ВНЦ «ГОИ им. С.И. Вавилова» сосредоточены в трех научно-производственных комплексах (НПК): «Кристалл», «Волокно» и «Стекло».

НПК «Кристалл» осуществляет исследования и разработки по трем направлениям: активированные кристаллические материалы, функциональные кристаллические оптические материалы и кристаллические и поликристаллические среды для работы в широком спектральном диапазоне (УФ, видимый, ИК). На базе данного НПК осуществляется:

  • выращивание активных оптических элементов из кристаллов гадолиний-скандий-алюминиевого граната, двойного фторида иттрия-лития с редкоземельными элементами, калий-гадолиниевого вольфрамата, активированного неодимом, нитрата бария и сульфата никеля;
  • производство заготовок лейкосапфира, фторида кальция и бария, селенида цинка и композита селенид цинка/ сульфид цинка для проходной оптики УФ, видимого и ИК диапазонов.

НПК «Волокно» проводит экспериментальные исследования по следующим направлениям:

  • увеличение прочности фотонно-кристаллических волокон;
  • разработка световодов для производства брэгговских решеток;
  • разработка активированных световодов для волоконных лазеров;
  • разработка световодов для передачи мощного лазерного излучения;
  • исследование нелинейно-оптического преобразования пикосекундных лазерных импульсов в фотонно-кристаллических волокнах.

В НПК «Стекло» исследования и разработки проводятся по трем направлениям: оптические стекла, лазерные стекла и стеклокерамика. По направлению «Оптические стекла» продолжаются работы по расширению каталога оптических (более 70 марок) и радиационно-стойких (более 60 марок) стекол. Разрабатываются новые образцы стекол и для волоконно-оптических изделий, в том числе высокотемпературные. Так, по контракту с компаниями «Сваровски» и «Прециоза» специалисты НИТИОМ успешно реализовали проект по созданию цветных стекол определенной цветовой гаммы, не содержащие вредные примеси.

По направлению «Лазерные стекла» последняя технология, созданная учёными института, - технология синтеза светопоглощающих стёкол для кладинга дисковых активных элементов. Созданная с ее применением продукция в разы превосходит по качеству показатели обычных, применяемых для этих целей, стёкол. Светопоглощающие стекла институт производит по заказу Российского ядерного центра.

По направлению «Стеклокерамика» в НИТИОМ была осуществлена разработка оптических стекол с наноразмерными кристаллами, которые придают материалу принципиально новые свойства. На основе этой инновационной продукции в институте в настоящее время создаются наноструктурированные материалы для высокоэффективных пассивных лазерных затворов, высокоэффективные диффузные отражатели, электрооптические стеклокристаллические элементы и граданы.