Research and technological institute of optical materials all-Russia scientific center "S.I.Vavilov State Optical Institute"

History

The history of the Research and technological institute of optical materials all-Russia scientific center "S.I.Vavilov State Optical Institute" is inseparably associated with the history of Vavilov State Optical Institute (VSOI), which was founded in December 1918. In a very short period a group of VSOI scientists headed by the member of the Academy of Sciences D.S. Rozhdestvensky created the physicochemical foundation for a complex optical glass-melting process. It allowed the USSR to completely dispense with procurements of foreign optical glass by the beginning of 1927.

In VSOI research studies on the development of compositions and manufacturing technology were conducted in the department headed by the member of the Academy of Sciences I.V. Grebenshchikov. After his death in 1953 the department was headed by the Doctor of physical-mathematical sciences A.I. Stozharov, and since 1966 the head of the department has been the future member of the Academy of Sciences G.T. Petrovsky.

VSOI optical scientists developed domestic catalogues of optical (more than 70 brands) and radiation-resistant (more than 60 brands) glass, which provided the opportunity to create schemes of complex optical lenses that formed and transferred an image without chromatic and other aberrations.

In 1969, due to the increase of the amount of work and the number of employees, the materials laboratories of the institute were converted into the 1st branch of VSOI. The appointed director of the new institution was G.T. Petrovsky.

In the middle of the 1980s, due to complications with funding, VSOI was divided into 6 independent thematic institutes. The first institute to become independent was the Research and technological institute of optical materials - in 1991. In subsequent years the institute strengthened its position as the leading centre of the country in the area of optical materials studies. It cooperated with enterprises and institutes of the optical industry.

НИТИОМ ВНЦ «ГОИ им. С.И. Вавилова»

История

История научно-исследовательского и технологического института оптического материаловедения (НИТИОМ) ВНЦ «ГОИ им. С.И. Вавилова» неразрывно связана с судьбой Государственного оптического института (ГОИ) им. С.И. Вавилова, который был создан в декабре 1918 года. В кратчайшие сроки группа ученых ГОИ под руководством академика Д.С. Рождественского создала физико-химические основы сложного процесса оптического стекловарения. Это позволило СССР уже к началу 1927 года полностью освободиться от закупок оптического стекла за рубежом.

В ГОИ исследования по разработке составов и технологии производства стекла велись в отделе, которым руководил академик И.В. Гребенщиков. После его смерти в 1953 году отдел возглавил доктор физико-математических наук А.И. Стожаров, а с 1966 года - будущий академик Г.Т. Петровский.

Силами ученых-стекольщиков ГОИ были разработаны отечественные каталоги оптических (более 70 марок) и радиационно-стойких (более 60 марок) стекол, позволяющих создавать схемы сложных оптических объективов, формирующих и передающих изображение без хроматических и иных аберраций.

В 1969 году, в связи с ростом объемов работ и численности сотрудников, материаловедческие лаборатории института были преобразованы в 1-й филиал ГОИ. Директором нового учреждения был назначен Г.Т. Петровский.

Начавшиеся в середине 1980-х годов сложности с финансированием привели к разделению ГОИ на 6 самостоятельных тематических институтов. Первым в 1991 году самостоятельность обрел НИТИОМ. В последующие годы положение института как ведущего центра страны в области оптического материаловедения укреплялось, развивались кооперации с предприятиями и институтами оптической промышленности.